Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Possible Paypal scam
MoneyMakerGroup Forum > Payment Processors & Currency Exchange > Payment Processors & E-Currencies > PayPal


DY2746
Today I got a Email from someone who clames to be "service@paypal.com" but Im very sure its not. Whith a title of "Unauthorized access to your PayPal account" now I have a paypal account so I was very interested. I click it open and I see this.

"As part of our security measures, we regularly screen activity in the
PayPal system. We recently noticed the following issue on your account:

We would like to ensure that your account was not accessed by an
unauthorized third party. Because protecting the security of your
account is our primary concern, we have limited access to sensitive PayPal
account features. We understand that this may be an inconvenience but please
understand that this temporary limitation is for your protection.
Case ID Number: PP-072-838-482

(the fake paypal link was here)



For your protection, we have limited access to your account until
additional security measures can be completed. We apologize for any
inconvenience this may cause.


To review your account and some or all of the information that PayPal
usedto make its decision to limit your account access, please visit the
Resolution Center (and here) If, after reviewing your account
information, you seekfurther clarification regarding your account access, please
contact PayPal by visiting the Help Center and clicking "Contact Us".
We thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Please understand that
this is a security measure intended to help protect you and your account.
We apologize for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,
PayPal Account Review Department

PayPal Email ID PP64"



Now it looks real enough but when you go over the links the address says "www.sixthelement.biz/adnana/index.php" the link takes you to a screen that looks just like a paypal screen where it says the "the page has been moved" with a link to go to the main page and redirects you to a log-in screen that also looks just like a real paypal log-in. Now this is where it gets funky. When it ask you to log in it does not matter what you put in that slot it could be tunafishsucks@yahoo.com and the password you use also does not matter it will let you go to the next screen. This is where it will ask you for all your credit card information.

This is where the flags started going off for me and I stopped "after I used my real email and password". I got on my other computer and went to the real paypal site and logged in no problem and no security warnings or anything like that showed up. Now im far from an expert and all this may be legit. Im posting here to make people aware and maybe open a discussion of things like this that has been going around. And to hopefully find someone capable of sorting this out.

Long time reader first time poster.. sad It had to about this, but I had to share.
ASFx
Receiving those type of emails is pretty normal. That's just a standard phishing email. Dont bother clicking the links or doing anything it says.
alexeow
I receive this type of email everyday. May be scammer like me? rofl4.gif
Classy Lassie
Buy Mailwasher for viewing your email on the server before downloading it to your computer. It will show you the REAL website address of url's included in emails. That makes it easy to see which of these emails are for real and which are bogus.

Classy Lassie

This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.